Footpaths, Cycle Ways and Walks
The local area provides many picturesque places to explore and enjoy, walking, cycling or sitting.
Please remember the Countryside Code when you are walking so that we may all benefit from the wonderful countryside around us for many, many years to come.
In 1543 Swallowfield Park comprised a dwelling or mansion and cloth mill enclosed by the "parke of Swallowfelde" and "Courte Garden". It is likely the mansion occupied the same site as the present house but in 1689 the old building was demolished and William Talman was commissioned to design a new mansion. There have been several periods of rebuilding since.
The Grounds contain the Pitt Bridge, a five arched bridge built by Diamond Pitt over the river Blackwater in 1722. His initials appear above the central span. The Park is private property so permission should be sought to enter.
All Saints Church, Swallowfield
The church was originally built in 1256 and although restored and extended over the years, the original building still stands. Mary Russell Mitford's grave, marked with a solid cross lies to the right of the church in the far side of the churchyard. She moved to Swallowfield in 1851 and lived in a cottage at Queen Anne's Mead. She is a well known writer who was unfortunately paralysed in 1852 when thrown from her pony-chaise near the Pitt Bridge.
This old manor house is thought to be the oldest in Swallowfield. In 1236 it was part of extensive land belonging to the Earl of Salisbury.
Farley Hill and the Farley Estate
The village was once home to three country houses; Farley Court, Farley Castle and Farley Hall. Today, the latter, a Grade I Listed 18th Century property, is owned by the Viscount Bearsted and his family, whilst the other two are now residential developments.
The 1,750 Farley Estate is framed by the Blackwater, Loddon and Whitewater rivers, all tributaries of the River Thames. The Estate is home to a working farm, a livery, a commercial partridge, pheasant and mixed bird shoot and a portfolio of commercial and residential properties. The Estate plays host to annual events including Sparks in the Park, the Swallowfield Show and the Farley Hall Horse Trials.
The Victorian cast-iron bridge which crosses the River Loddon here was originally cast by the S Griffith Foundry, railway suppliers from the golden age of steam.
The George & Dragon
This popular Grade II listed pub in Swallowfield dates back to the 17th Century and has been a coach house as well as a public house.
Milestones and Mileposts
Milestones and mileposts, first introduced in England in the mid 18th Century, were used to indicate area boundaries and travel distances in the same way road signs are used today. Various examples can be found in and around the Parish.
Wellington Country Park
The descendants of the original Duke of Wellington, the 8th Duke and Duchess of Wellington opened Wellington Country Park in 1974. The current Duke owns Stratfield Saye House and the Stratfield Saye Estate, which covers 7,000 acres of parkland,woodland and arable farming. The estate has a number of residential and commercial properties to rent as well as various sporting activities. These include Wellington Riding, Wellington Farm Shop, The Wellington Arms The Barns and Daneshill School.
Wellington Country Park, which also lies on the Estate, is open from spring until late autumn. There is an entry charge to enjoy walks, a miniature railway, crazy golf, children's playground, children's farm and much more. There are several cafes on site.